The RDC is the is the highest policy making body in the region with Local Chief Executives, selected regional line agencies and private sector representatives as members. It coordinates and sets the direction of all economic and social development efforts of the region and serves as the forum where local efforts can be related and integrated with national development activities.

NEDA Caraga, as Secretariat of the Caraga RDC, facilitated the reorganization of the Council for the period 2013-2016 on 14 August 2013 at Almont Hotel’s Inland Resort, Butuan City, guided by Executive Order 325 (EO 325), series of 1996, as

Governors Johnny T. Pimentel of Surigao del Sur and Sol F. Matugas of Surigao del Norte were nominated from among the Local Chief Executives while Engr. Leonel A. Santos and Mr. Omar Joseph O. Andaya from among the PSRs. Nominations were made through secret balloting. The RDC Secretary, ARD Mylah Faye Aurora B. Cariño of NEDA and DILG Regional Director Lilibeth Famacion acted as election officers. The RDC 13 chairperson and co-chairperson shall serve for a fixed term of three (3) years as provided under Executive Order 325. This term shall coincide with the regular term of the elective officials without prejudice to reappointment. The same EO sets out the condition that if the chair comes from the government sector, the co-chair shall be chosen from the private sector or vice-versa.

The Chairpersons and Co-Chairpersons of the four sectoral committees of the RDC were also selected by the Council. Governor Sol F. Matugas and DILG RD Lilibeth Famacion were selected Chairperson and Co-Chairperson of the Development Administration Committee (DAC), respectively; Mayor Librado Navarro of Bislig City and DSWD RD Minda B. Brigoli as Chairperson and Co-Chairperson for the Social Development Committee (SDC); Mayor Ferdinand M. Amante of Butuan City and RDC-PSR Epimaco Galero as Chairperson and Co-Chairperson of the Economic Development Committee (EDC); and Governor Johnny T. Pimentel and DPWH RD Danilo Versola as Chairperson and Co-Chairperson for the Infrastructure Development Committee (IDC).

The new set of PSRs was also confirmed during the meeting. There are two (2) regional and nine (9) geographical PSRS confirmed, namely :

Back to Articles